Seeds and seedlings

Among the many joys for me of growing plants is raising new ones from seeds and cuttings–This requires a different kind of nurturing as opposed to established plants–I thought I’d start sharing some of my ongoing projects and observations–


I’ll start with these Schlumbergera (Christmas cactus) seedlings–I hybridized these by sharing pollen among various plants of differing color in my schlumbergera collection–


This was an experiment so I didn’t keep track of the pollen parents–These community pots are labeled with the color of the pod parent–I’m excited about the possibilities here–I will be moving these up to larger pots soon–

These are hippeastrum (amaryllis) seedlings, not quite a year old–I collected this seed from unidentified heirloom hippeastrum blooming in the studio garden next door–This variety has been in the same family for generations and has bloomed every spring, rather early–They are winter hardy here in Georgia, and I had a 90% germination date with these seeds–

A photo of the flower, a beautiful reddish-orange–I am in the process of tesearching the name of this hybrid or species, possibly an impossible proposition–

These are 7 week old hippeastrum seedlings, from seed I collected from two that bloomed in the greenhouse at work; something got in and pollinated them–One was a red similar to ‘Red Lion’ and the other one a red and white–Neither pod was very large and many of the seeds inside were misshapen–I wasn’t sure if they were viable, but I would say I got about a 45 % germination rate for the number I planted–The hardy hippeastrum from the yard had larger pods with more and better quality seed–

This deli tray contains tillandsia (air plant) seeds I collected recently in my travels–They are sown on a bed of damp sphagnum moss that I mist regularly with distilled water–I recently found that they had sprouted–

If you look closely, you can see the green sprouts clinging to strands of moss, many no bigger than the head of a pin–

In this deli tray I’ve sown Dionae muscipula (Venus flyrap) seed on a bed of rinsed, shredded sphagnum moss–This seed was taken from my own plants; They are tiny, like black pepper flakes:

I look forward to growing these to maturity-

This Sarracenia leucophylla (pitcher plant) seedling is about a year old–It it the only survivor from seeds I ordered online–A wren got into the deli tray of seedlings and dug them all out–I was only able to save this little guy–

A closeup of an adolescent pitcher–When mature, the pitchers can be several feet tall and patterned with beautiful white and green, sometime white and red striations–I imagine at this point if it’s even eating yet, it’s probably consuming very small insects, like gnats–

These are Clivia miniata seeds I purchased fresh from an online grower–They are large and substantial, like a smooth macadamia nut–I have an immature yellow-flowered clivia I bought last year, an unknown hybrid–I decided I’d like to have Clivia miniata also; though more common, it’s nonetheless just as lovely with flowers of reddish-orange and yellow–

Here you can see one of the seeds rising out of the soil, pushed up by a fat new root–These seeds are buried halfway and kept moist but not wet–

I love rhizomatous begonias and have been propagating them through leaf cuttings rooted in water–

This is an easy method of propagation, and one can use the same leaf to make a new plant more than one time–

Rooting begonia leaf cuttings is a foolproof way to increase a collection or have extra plants to share with friends–

My Griffinias bloomed recently, and though the plants are young, I’ve decided to keep the stalks on to see if the pods will mature and produce seed–Fingers crossed–

Some plants are so good at replicating themselves that all you have to do is divide them–Here is a small rectangular planter of a recently divided clump of butterworts–I potted these up not three months ago and already the plants are making plantlets–

If you look closely at some of the leaves,  you will see not only the carcasses of tiny insects, but also tiny new plantlets forming–Amazing–

Leave a Reply

